Three Pac-10 Players Selected As Midseason Finalists For The Naismith Award

Posted by Doug Brodess on February-12-2011 Add Comments

On Friday, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced its annual midseason Top 30 finalists for the Naismith Award, given each year to the most outstanding player in college basketball.

The Pac-10 has three players who were among this elite list of collegiate players: Derrick Williams (Arizona), Isaiah Thomas (Washington) and Klay Thompson (Washington State).

Williams leads the conference in field goal percentage (63.3) and is the second-leading scorer at 19.5 PPG. Williams leads the nation in free throws attempted and made, as well as points per shot.

Thomas leads the Pac-10 in assists (5.9 APG) and is the No. 3 Pac-10 scorer (16.8 PPG).

Thompson leads the conference in scoring (20.9 PPG), as well as being No. 3 in assists (4.3 APG) and No. 4 in steals (2.0 SPG).

Williams and Thomas are also 2010-11 John Wooden Award (another major Player of the Year honor) finalists. 


The Last 5 Winners

2006: J.J. Redick, Duke

2007: Kevin Durant, Texas

2008: Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina

2009: Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

2010: Evan Turner, Ohio State


The Full List of 2011 Naismith Award Finalists

Alec Burks, Colorado

Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech

Marcus Denmon, Missouri

Kenneth Faried, Morehead State

Jimmer Fredette, BYU

Austin Freeman, Georgetown

Jordan Hamilton, Texas

Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame

Tu Holloway, Xavier

Rick Jackson, Syracuse

Charles Jenkins, Hofstra

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State

Jon Leuer, Wisconsin

Demetri McCamey, Illinois

Mickey McConnell, Saint Mary’s

E’Twaun Moore, Purdue

Marcus Morris, Kansas

Kyle Singler, Duke

Chris Singleton, Florida State

Nolan Smith, Duke

Jared Sullinger, Ohio State

Isaiah Thomas, Washington

Trey Thompkins, Georgia

Klay Thompson, Washington State

Kemba Walker, UConn

Brad Wanamaker, Pittsburgh

Derrick Williams, Arizona

Jordan Williams, Maryland

Read more College Basketball news on

Post a Comment

(required. But it will not be published)