Why The Non-BCS Teams Don’t Deserve a Chance Under The Current BCS

Posted by Nick The Only on November-15-2009 Add Comments

Lately, there has been a lot of clamor from the non-BCS (or non-AQ) teams and their fans for consideration as title-contenders. Under the current BCS system, there are only two teams each year that gain the privilege of playing for a BCS national title. 

The most commonly cited argument in support of the inclusion of non-AQ teams is that they have shown they can beat the big boys. Boise State fans point to their opening win over Pac 10-title-contender Oregon. TCU fans will argue that they beat Virginia and Clemson on the road.

While these wins are commendable—and certainly show that BSU and TCU can compete with BCS conference teams once or twice per season—they do not equate to BSU and TCU being worthy national ti...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - College Football
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

Post a Comment

(required. But it will not be published)