Chip Kelly: Oregon Head Coach Takes Another National Award

Posted by Adam Lazarus on December-22-2010 Add Comments

Chip Kelly won the Associated Press' Coach of the Year Award today, making him the first member of the Pac-10 to take home the trophy handed out each year since 1998. Kelly had already won the Walter Camp, Eddie Robinson, and Sporting News Coach of the Year awards.

Kelly, who led the Oregon Ducks to a 12-0 record, first or second place rankings in all three polls, and a spot in the BCS Title Game against Auburn, claimed 24 of the possible 55 votes.

His opponent on January 10, 2011, Auburn's Gene Chizik, finished second with 17 votes, while his Pac-10 counterpart, Stanford's Jim Harbaugh, finished third with five votes. 

Kelly is in just his second season as the Ducks head coach; he was the team's offensive ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - College Football
Article is property of

Post a Comment

(required. But it will not be published)