Fixing the BCS—A Bowl Championship Shuffle

Posted by Jeff Kessock on September-13-2009 Add Comments
There's no denying it. The BCS is broken. Since 1998, the BCS has named 11 National Champions. 11 times, and not once was a Champion from a non-BCS conference. As a matter of fact, the last National Champion from a traditional conference, (Big 10, 12, PAC-10, SEC or ACC) was in 1984. (BYU) First it was the AP, then the Bowl Coalition, then—the BCS. The Bowl Conspiracy Series. There's no denying the decision makers involved in the BCS process fixed some of the traditional concerns, like that of a National Champion playing an inferior team, or split National Champions. But it's only been a little longer than a decade, and problems with the system seem to continue to pervade the college landscape. To dampen matters further, after onl...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - College Football
Article is property of

Post a Comment

(required. But it will not be published)