Top Ten ’09 Walker Award Hopefuls

Posted by Carl Stine on August-7-2009 Add Comments
The Doak Walker award is given yearly to the best running back in the NCAA. The watch list for this prestigious award was announced 8/4/09. The semifinalists will be announced November 11th, and the finalists will be selected Novermber 23rd, with the winner announced December 10th. The award ..."is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification." Among the players that have won the award are: Darren Mcfadden '06, '07; Larry Johnson '02; LaDainian Tomlinson '00; and Ricky Williams '97, '98. The award is named for the great Southern Methodist University running back, and Heisman trophy winner, Doak Walker. I ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - College Football
Article is property of

Post a Comment

(required. But it will not be published)